Archive | 6:47 pm

Tis the season to go hunting

17 Oct

Hunting season is just around the corner. Bow and dove season on both in full swing. Deer season will be coming up soon. Hunting can be a fun hobby to pick-up.

If you aren’t familar with hunting or guns though, you may want to take a hunter’s safety course. Shooting ranges, like Gunsmoke in Snook or Champion Firearms, can be good places to go to to shoot your guns. Practice makes perfect. Good luck this season and make sure you follow all of the hunting laws.

La Bodega

17 Oct

Eating is one of my favorite forms of entertainment…don’t judge, I’m not the only one. Unique restaurants are some of my favorite places to go. In College Station, La Bodega is one of those different restaurants.

 

Located behind Northgate, La Bodega serves as great place for people to enjoy a drink after work or class. The restaurant and bar is known for their fresh fish tacos. It’s not your standard Mexican tacos, they’re very “baja” and are very refreshing.

Shakers, a margarita-type drink served in a, well…shaker, are very popular. If you go before 7pm, shakers are $6.50. They have lots of different flavors and they’re pretty stout. I definitely recommend getting one for yourself or better yet, splitting one with a friend.

La Bodega also has live entertainment on certain nights. They’re outside patio is great for relaxing and people-watching. Parking can be hard to find though, so be prepared. Also, if you’re going with a large party, I would suggest making reservations.

To see a menu and check-out drink specials go to their website at www.bodegatacos.com.

Time to relax

17 Oct

One of my favorite things to do when I have a little extra time is getting a manicure. It usually takes less than 30 minutes, but gives me the relaxation needed to get me through a couple of days. I always go to Super Nails, which is on Texas Ave. in the Hobby Lobby shopping center.

I like this nail place because it’s very clean! Each set of nail tools come in their own package, so they’re always sanitized. The vast size and number of employees of Super Nails allows for very little wait time.

Super Nails has a good selection of nail polishes, another important factor. Manicures are around $11, and with a coupon, you can get a manicure and pedicure for $25. This is a good deal.

For many people, a manicure isn’t something out of the ordinary. But for me, it’s a couple minutes out of my week that I can just relax and enjoy myself without worrying about my long to-do list.

A little bit of everything

17 Oct

If you’re looking for something to do on a Sunday afternoon, you should go out to Jockey Flea Market. Located off of Highway 6 going towards Navasota, Jockey has a variety of people selling a variety of things.

You can find everything from animals to washing and drying machines. You never know what you’ll find. Though I haven’t actually bought anything, it’s fun to go out there and take a look around.

The best time to go is early Sunday morning to 2ish in the afternoon. This time has the optimal amount of sellers. Check out Jockey Flea Market, one man’s trash (per se) is another man’s treasure.